Regional Historical Museum


The museum was created in 1907 by a group of enthusiastic citizens determined to preserve the numerous archaeological findings from the city and its surrounding area. The first exhibition was arranged in the same year. The Historical Museum has one of the world richest collections of prehistoric art (including two Neolithic dwellings, the best preserved in Europe); interesting collections of antique bronze and glass objects, numismatic collections of local and imported coins, and the safeguarded remains of more than 30 Thracian chariots. The museum collects and keeps unique objects and documents that reveal the economic, political, and cultural life of the city from the Bulgarian National Revival (between the 18th and 19th centuries) to the present.

Neolithic Dwellings Museum

Read more...Two dwellings from the New Stone Age (6th millennium BC) are preserved in the Neolithic Dwellings Museum. These are the best preserved dwellings from this era in Europe and contain a rich collection of tools and artifacts.

The permanent exhibition in the museum introduces visitors to the Prehistoric art of the Stara Zagora Region.

Antique Forum of Augusta Trayana


Much of the antique city of Augusta Trayana can be seen in the very centre of Stara Zagora (just behind the Palace of Justice and the Old Theatre) including the forum of the antique city with the remains of an amphitheatre, thermal baths, city walls, the western gate and part of the main trading street

Southern Gate of Augusta Trayana antique city


This was a solid structure in the fortified city walls, which included a 2-story building above the gate. Today what remains of the gate is preserved in the basement of Piraeus Bank.

Late Antique Public Building with Mosaics


A typical hall of a public building from the Late Antiquity, this hall had an area of 130 square meters, and anteroom, and porticoes. The floor was covered with multi-coloured mosaic, representing the four seasons and the circle of life (4th to 6th centuries AD). Today visitors can see this lovely piece of art in the basement of the Post Office building.

Late Antique House with Mosaic


Guest room with a multi-coloured floor mosaic in a rich private house (4th century AD). It looks like a variegated carpet with rich figured composition organized around a small pool with a fountain. The mosaic is among the best specimens of the Roman provincial art from 4th century. It has been preserved under a special cover under the street level.

Museum of Nineteenth Century Town Life



The Museum of Nineteenth Century Town Life is a house that exhibits a rich collection of household belongings from this period.

Hilendar Cloister


This museum houses the exhibition “Levski in Stara Zagora Region”. The exhibition consists of documents and objects which belonged to the Bulgarian national hero Vassil Levski. Visitors can see a restoration of a typical classroom of the Saint Nikola School, where the future “Apostle of Liberty” studied.

Stara Zagora crafts (End of 19th and beginning of 20th c.)


 Coppersmith’s, tailor’s and cooper’s shops are exhibited.

Samara Banner Memorial to the Defenders of Stara Zagora in 1877


Dedicated to the battles for Stara Zagora, the baptism of fire of the Samara Banner, and the Bulgarian volunteers who took part in the Liberation War in 1877. The Memorial was inaugurated in 1977, commemorating the centennial anniversary of the battles for Stara Zagora.

Geo Milev House-Museum


The museum was opened on September 27, 1953. It displays more than 3000 exhibits, all connected with the life and works of the poet Geo Milev. Visitors can watch a documentary film about the poet's heritage in a modern audio-visual hall. A century-old oak tree grows in the garden in front of the House.

Eski Dzhamiya (Eski Mosque)


This is the only building which survived the city fire during the Russian-Turkish Liberation War. The building, with its mural paintings, is a national monument of culture. An inscription inside says that the mosque was completed at the end of 1409. Recent archaeological excavations revealed that there had been a Medieval Christian church in the basement, and before it - a Thracian sanctuary.  Currently, the building is closed to the public.